A Bit of Inspiration

When I was writing Still Dreaming, I stumbled upon a poem of Samuel Taylor Coleridge’s that fascinated me. It’s such a whimsical thought that he captures in a few lines, but even more than that, it caught my attention because I was imagining a similar world where such a thing might be possible. That’s one of the reasons I love writing fantasy so much–a fantasy writer can try to answer the question at the end of this poem.

Even if you don’t read much Victorian poetry, I highly recommend Coleridge for a Romantic flavor (that’s Romantic with a capital R, mind you). You might find it’s not as stuffy as some people say…

What if you slept

And what if In your sleep

You dreamed

And what if

In your dream

You went to heaven

And there plucked a strange and beautiful flower

And what if

When you awoke

You had that flower in your hand

Ah, what then?

~Samuel Taylor Coleridge

Leave a Reply

