A Quick Update

Standard
A Quick Update

Hello, friends! It has been a while since I’ve put up a new post, so I thought it was high time I fix that. As usual, I certainly have too many projects going all at once (I have heard that the first step is acceptance). But I’ll be updating my blog more regularly, so stay tuned for that!

My summer reading list keeps doing this

b537a66736d1db422ed39a9083f962b7

to me. I’ve read a few on my miles-long list, but not nearly enough to stay ahead of the tidal wave of recommendations I’ve gotten lately. But I’m always willing to hear about good books! And so I am further buried. Oh well.

My sister and I are currently prepping for an artist alley booth at a local convention, which is like a craft fair for nerds. It should be a lot of fun, even if it does take quite a bit of time!

I’m continuing to send query letters to agents, as well as applying for various positions and freelance writing projects. In the last couple of months, I’ve finished two short stories, written a few poems, and made progress on a new novel. So I’m sending out a lot of words into the world, but I don’t often get many back, unfortunately.

37d7863e18202dcd11c47d4cb49a6630.jpg

Actual footage of a writer’s life

Writing is the strangest business, but I can’t think of any other industry I want to be a part of. If that dedication after my long engagement with rejection letters doesn’t pass the insanity prerequisite, I don’t know what will.

9c5c2a46085822c177b26e3e5dec13bf

I often imagine it like walking along a hard road. Even when you fall down, you can still usually see where you’re headed. Lately, though, I’ve been wondering if I’m on the right road at all. The destination hasn’t changed, but I don’t know how to get there from here even though I thought I had a reliable map. I’ve seen a lot of other places that I could go instead, but none of them draw me heart and soul like the world of storytelling. And so on I go.

I’ll just keep doing my thing. Whatever that is.

0ba48e23b33519032098e413ba5e8907

 

Wave hello if you see me!

Leave a Reply

